Prize: $10,000
Submissions: Teleplay, Feature Film, and Documentary.
Requirements: Teleplay or film must be aired or released between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2018.
Entry fee: $100

The HUMANITAS Prize was created in 1974 by Fr. Ellwood “Bud” Kieser. Fr. Bud was deeply committed to celebrating film and television writers whose work inspired more compassion, peace, love and dignity in the human family. 

I decided to go for a swim. Two hundred yards offshore, the intuition hit. Why not create a prize for the writers of the entertainment community—a prize for writing network movies that promote human values and enrich the viewers? And why single out the writer? Because I’ve learned that everything depends on the script.
— Fr. Bud Kieser

A signature HUMANITAS story will:

  1. Challenge us to use our freedom to grow and develop.
  2. Confront us with our individual responsibility.
  3. Examine the consequences of our choices.

The HUMANITAS Prize is awarded annually and funded by an endowment established through the generosity of individuals, networks, studios and foundations. The winners each receive a trophy and a cash award of $10,000.

We accept submissions for the following 7 categories:

  1. Feature Film
  2. 60-Minute
  3. 30-Minute
  4. Children’s Live Action
  5. Children’s Animation
  6. Sundance Feature Film
  7. Documentary

There is an entry fee of $100 per submission. There is no limit to the number of submissions.

To qualify, a teleplay must have been written and produced in the English language for U.S. television (broadcast, cable, internet and satellite).  A screenplay for a feature film becomes eligible in the year it receives a U.S. theatrical release. The teleplay or film must air or be released within the calendar year.

entry details


Submission period: September 1 - September 30, 2018

Judging: October - November 2018

Announcements of finalists: January 2019

Annual awards event: February 2019

Submission Materials

  • Final/shooting script
  • Digital copy (documentary category only)

Episodes that air between January 1, 2018 - December 31, 2018 are eligible for the 44th Annual HUMANITAS Prize award. If aired after the submission period, the episode will be kept confidential. Submissions will be accepted starting September 1, 2018. Please click below to get started.